Saturday, July 3, 2010

Activity day participation at Farmleigh House and Estate in Dublin on Sunday, July 4 from 1.30 pm on

On Sunday, July 4 from 1.30 pm on, the Cornelia Connelly performers will take part in the Family Fun & Fitness Day with a 4th July American Theme at the Farmleigh House and Estate in Dublin. Here is some information about the history of Farmleigh:
Farmleigh, an estate of 78 acres situated to the north-west of Dublin's Phoenix Park, was purchased from the Guinness family by the Irish Government in 1999. The house has been carefully refurbished by the Office of Public Works as the premier accommodation for visiting dignitaries and guests of the nation, for high level Government meetings, and for public enjoyment. Originally a small Georgian house built in the late 18th century, Farmleigh was purchased by Edward Cecil Guinness (1847-1927) on his marriage to his cousin, Adelaide Guinness in 1873. A great-grandson of Arthur Guinness, founder of the eponymous brewery, Edward Cecil became the first Earl of Iveagh in 1919. The first major building programme was undertaken in 1881-84 to designs by Irish architect James Franklin Fuller (1832-1925), who extended the House to the west, refurbished the existing house, and added a third storey. In 1896 the Ballroom wing was added, designed by the Scottish architect William Young (1843-1900). With the addition of a new Conservatory adjoining the Ballroom in 1901, increased planting of broadleaves and exotics in the gardens, Farmleigh had, by the early years of the 20th century, all the requisites for gracious living and stylish entertainment. Its great charm lies in the eclecticism of its interior decoration ranging from the classical style to Jacobean, Louis XV, Louis XVI and Georgian. In 2001 the Office of Public Works began the delicate job of restoring this magnificent estate. This was carried out with great delicacy and care so as the historical ambience at Farmleigh has been preserved as it assumes its new role on behalf of the Irish State.

Sunday, July 4, at 11 am: The Cornelia Connelly Travelers perform at the Pro-Cathedral in Dublin

On Sunday, July 4, at 11 am, the Pro-Cathedral in Dublin welcomes the Cornelia Connelly School Advanced Women’s Ensemble and Handbell Ensemble from Anaheim under the direction of Brian Dehn. St Mary's Church (Irish: Leas-Ardeaglais Naomh Muire), known also as St Mary's Pro-Cathedral or simply the Pro-Cathedral, is a pro-cathedral and is the episcopal seat of the Roman Catholic Archbishop of Dublin and Primate of Ireland.
Saint Mary’s was constituted in 1825 from Saint Mary’s Chapel Liffey Street, whose pre-Reformation monastic antecedent was the great Benedictine, and later Cistercian Abbey of Saint Mary’s founded in the twelfth century. The present church is built on a site which was part of the ancient monastic foundation. The church was dedicated on 14th November 1825, the Feast of Saint Laurence O’Toole, Patron Saint of the Archdiocese of Dublin under the patronage of the ‘Conception of the Virgin’.
Music has always been a central ministry in Saint Mary's Pro Cathedral. The Palestrina Choir is the resident choir of Saint Mary's Pro-Cathedral. It had its origins in a boys' choir formed in the 1890s by Dr. Vincent O'Brien, then a music teacher at St. Mary's Place Christian Brothers School in Dublin. It was at a performance of Palestrina's Missa Papae Marcelli at St. Teresa's Carmelite Church in Clarendon Street in 1898 that this choir came to the attention of Edward Martyn their founding sponsor. Martyn wished to promote the music of Palestrina which was espoused by Pope Pius X as a standard to which liturgical music should aspire. The Palestrina Choir was constituted and installed in the Pro-Cathedral on January 1st, 1903 with Dr O'Brian as director. In the century since its foundation, the Choir has had seven Directors. Dr Vincent O'Brien, Director until his death in 1948, was succeeded by his son, Oliver. In 1978, Fr Seán O hEarcaigh took over the baton from Oliver O'Brien. He was succeeded in 1982, by Ms. Ite O'Donovan and in 1996 by Comdt Joseph Ryan. Ms. Órla Barry was the Director from the end of 1996 to 2001. The current Director is Blánaid Murphy. Over the years the Palestrina Choir has attracted singers of high renown. John Count McCormack was a member of the Choir from 1904 to 1905. Many recent members are now distinguished soloists, most notably Emmanuel Lawler, who began his singing career as a boy soprano in the Choir. In recent years, the Choir has travelled widely, singing at many Cathedrals and venues throughout Ireland, Europe and North America.

Friday, July 2, 2010

Cornelia Connelly Concert Venue for Saturday, July 3, at 1 pm: St. Patrick’s Cathedral in Dublin

The Cornelia Connelly travelers will be the guests at St. Patrick’s Cathedral in Dublin on July 3 at 1 pm. Built in honour of Ireland’s patron saint, Saint Patrick’s Cathedral stands adjacent to the famous well where tradition has it Saint Patrick baptized converts on his visit to Dublin. A church was built on this site in 1191 and in 1991 they celebrated 800 years of worship. The present building dates from 1220 and during the years it had been extended again and again.
The Cathedral is today the National Cathedral for the Church of Ireland (Anglican). The basis of the present building was built between 1191 and 1270, though little now remains of the earliest work beyond the Baptistry. Much of the work was overseen by Henry of London, a friend of the King of England and signatory of the Magna Carta, who was also involved in the construction of Dublin's city walls and Dublin Castle. The tower (Minot's Tower) and west nave were rebuilt between 1362 and 1370, following a fire. In 1560, one of Dublin's first public clocks was erected in "St. Patrick's Steeple".
Throughout its long history the cathedral has contributed much to Irish life, and one key aspect of this relates to the writer and satirist Jonathan Swift, author of Gulliver's Travels, who was Dean of the cathedral from 1713 to 1745. Swift took a great interest in the building, its services and music and in what would now be called social welfare, funding an almshouse for poor women and Saint Patrick's Hospital.
The Choir School, which had been founded in 1432, supplied many of its members to take part in the very first performance of Handel's Messiah in 1742. It continues and although originally all-male, now also admits girls; a Cathedral Girls' Choir was founded in 2000 and sings once or twice a week. The Organ of St. Patrick's Cathedral is one of the largest in Ireland with over 4,000 pipes. Parts of it date from a Renatus Harris instrument of 1695. It was restored in the 1890s and in 1963.

Home away from Home: Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge in Dublin

Welcome to Bewley’s Hotel Ballsbridge in Dublin, travelers of Cornelia Connelly! This will be your home away for home for July 2nd-6th. Next to the RDS Arena (Irish International Convention and Exhibition Centre) in the heart of Dublin’s exclusive business district and embassy belt, this Ballsbridge hotel in Dublin City is a beautifully restored 19th century building, originally built as a Masonic School. The gem of the hotel is the recently renovated Thomas Prior Hall. With its brassiere restaurant, spacious lounges and free Wi-Fi, the hotel is popular with guests and locals alike. Situated so close to Dublin city centre the hotel provides an ideal base for visiting this great city’s many tourist attractions for example Grafton Street, The Guinness Store House and Trinity College.

Welcome to Dublin!

During their Incantato Performance Tour 2010, the travelers of Cornelia Connelly visit Dublin. Let's have a closer look at the Irish capital:

Dublin is the largest city and capital of Ireland. It is officially known in Irish as Baile Átha Cliath or Áth Cliath; the English name comes from the Irish Dubh Linn meaning "black pool". It is located near the midpoint of Ireland's east coast, at the mouth of the River Liffey and at the centre of the Dublin Region. Originally founded as a Viking settlement, it evolved into the Kingdom of Dublin and became the island's primary city following the Norman invasion. Today, it has one of the fastest growing populations of any European capital city. Dublin is a historical and contemporary cultural centre for the island of Ireland as well as a modern centre of education, the arts, administrative function, economy and industry.
The writings of the Greek astronomer and cartographer Ptolemy provide perhaps the earliest reference to human habitation in the area now known as Dublin. In around A.D. 140 he referred to a settlement he called Eblana Civitas. The settlement 'Dubh Linn' dates perhaps as far back as the first century BC and later a monastery was built there, though the town was established in about 841 by the Norse. The modern city retains the Anglicised Irish name of the former and the original Irish name of the latter.
Dublin is a popular shopping spot for both Irish people and tourists. Dublin city centre has several shopping districts, including Grafton Street, Henry Street, Stephen's Green Shopping Centre, Jervis Shopping Centre, Powerscourt and the newly refurbished Ilac Shopping Centre. On Grafton Street, the most famous shops include Brown Thomas and its sister shop BT2.

Thursday, July 1, 2010

Performance and Get-Together: Cornelia Connelly performers meet the students of Priory School, Edgbaston, on July 1

On day 7 of their England and Ireland Performance Tour, the Cornelia Connelly School Advanced Women’s Ensemble and Handbell Ensemble will spend some time at the Priory School in Edgbaston to participate in the day of activities - including a performance. Priory School is a thriving, Catholic, independent school, which welcomes all faiths. The school was opened on its present site, in the heart of Edgbaston, in 1936 by the Sisters of the Holy Child, Jesus. It is two miles from the city centre, on a beautiful site comprising 14 acres of wooded gardens and grounds. The school is very well equipped with up-to-date facilities. From 2007, boys have been accepted into the senior school but taught separately in most core courses (eg languages and maths); boys and girls taught together for humanities (eg geography and history). The school aims to help dyslexic pupils, in particular, to achieve their full potential. Drama and art are well supported by a large number of pupils and the school was recently awarded an Artsmark Silver award. There is a range of sports, games and extra-curricular activities. A variety of outdoor pursuits is encouraged. Although a Catholic foundation, the school welcomes pupils from all faiths. The sixth form is being restructured and is due to reopen in 2011 offering the International Baccalaureate.

Cornelia Connelly Handbell Ensemble at St. Leonards-Mayfield: "Joshua fi...